---
title: "Participant Management"
canonical: "https://helpcentre.macewan.ca/space/ETS/1809219695/Participant%20Management"
format: markdown
---
The participant list lets you know who joined the session and allows you to moderate your virtual class.

If the participant list is hidden, select **Participants** in the top bar to see who has joined the session.  

![image](media://3a87b1d0-fa38-4b10-9058-b2a6e10b8ea0)


![image](media://b854e163-3fa9-4006-bba8-9cc8f9a388ed)

When students or participants want to contact the moderator using the “Raise Hand” icon in the top menu, a hand-raised icon will appear next to each participant’s name on the list.** **You can lower all the raised hands at once.

- Click the** Lower Hands Down** icon in the participant list.

![image](media://9f5d11de-fc29-45e5-a904-190fa5aa2e8e)

As the instructor or moderator, you can disable participants’ camera and/or microphone by clicking on the device buttons. You can also mute all cameras or microphones by clicking on the **Mute All Webcams** or **Mute All Microphones** icon on the top right in the participant list.

![image](media://7cc584bd-34cd-483e-b50b-ec8b438c673d)

Kaltura Virtual Classroom has two mute modes: Standard Mute and Strong Mute. **Standard Mute **allows moderators to mute participants but gives participants the ability to unmute themselves anytime. **Strong Mute** allows hosts to mute participants, but the participant has to obtain the moderator’s permission before turning the microphone on.

To set up the mute mode for your classroom: 

1. Click** Settings **in the upper bar.
2. Click **Room Mode** tab.
3. Click** Standard Mute** or **Strong Mute**.

![image](media://e897b878-ef2f-4d28-919d-664ba2a670fb)

Similarly, instructors or moderators can remove participants’ ability to work on the whiteboard or write in the room chat for everyone by clicking on the **Disable Whiteboard** or **Disable Chat** icon in the participant list.

![image](media://391a3f5b-18d9-43fc-a5a8-2df7509193dd)

Instructors or moderators can also invite participants to the sessions via a Direct Link. 

**To invite guests to your classroom by sharing a link to your classroom**:** **

1. Click **Invite** in the sessions top menu.
2. Click **Copy***.*
3. Paste the link in an email to send it to your participants, or you can use the **Default Email** button.