---
title: "Share and Manage Recordings"
canonical: "https://helpcentre.macewan.ca/space/ETS/1819901962/Share%20and%20Manage%20Recordings"
format: markdown
---
### Start recording

In your Kaltura Virtual Classroom

1. Click **Tools**.
2. Select the Recording option.
  
3. Choose your preferred recording duration. You can manually select to stop or choose from 30 minutes to 3 hours.
  
4. To make the recording available to your students or participants once it’s completed, you can choose the option to **Publish Recording**. However, if you want to review the recording before sharing it with them, refrain from selecting the Publish Recording option. You can publish the recording later when you feel it’s ready for viewing.
5. Click **Start**.

> ℹ️ 💡A recording may take up to 1 minute to initialize. You will see an indication that recording is initializing and all students/participants are notified when the recording starts.
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ 💡Recording automatically stops when the set duration expires or when the session ends. However, 2 minutes before your recording expires you will be prompted to see if you want to extend your recording time by 30 minutes.

When you select the “unlimited” recording option, the recording will stop if:

- an instructor or moderator stops it from within the classroom
- the class ends
- the maximum recording length of 5 hours has been reached

You can start a new recording immediately after stopping the previous one. 

### Stop recording

Recording automatically stops when the set duration expires. You can choose to stop recording before the set duration expires.

1. Click the recording indication in the upper bar or click **Recording** in **Tools**.
2. From the confirmation pop-up, click the **Stop Recording **button. The recording is stopped and you will be notified when your completed recording file is available for viewing.

### Delete recording

1. Click **Files**.
2. Click the **Recordings** folder.
3. Select the recorded file you want to delete.
4. Click the **Trash** icon.
5. Click **Delete** to confirm the deletion action.

Note: Deleting a recording cannot be undone.

![image](media://9e1eae58-aa1e-4116-b10e-6af00d715872)

### Download your recording

When recording stops, your recorded video is processed and automatically added to Files in a folder called **Recordings**. Each recording file is named by default with the following convention: Rec - DATE & TIMESTAMP - NAME OF COURSE.  You are now ready to download your recording.  

1. Click **Files**.
2. Click the **Recordings** folder.
3. Select the recorded file you want to download.
4. Click the **Download** icon that appears next to the search bar.

> ℹ️ Recordings are download to an mp4 format.

![image](media://89952e77-ed3f-4446-bec5-87bf708159b7)

### Share a link to your recording

1. Click **Files**.
2. Click the **Recordings** folder.
3. Select the recorded file you want to download..
4. Click the **Link Sharing** icon.
5. Toggle link sharing to the right to reveal a web link.
6. Click the **Copy** button to copy the link to send to students or participants.

![image](media://c1671c44-8a82-4577-a721-e0b54669abed)

### Add recordings to your mêskanâs course

In case you have decided ***not*** to select the Publish Recording option while starting the recording, you have the option to add the recording at a later time to your mêskanâs course when you feel it’s appropriate. 

As mentioned above, your recorded video is processed and automatically added to Files in a folder called **Recordings**. Recorded videos are also available under your **My Media** area and you can share them with your students in your mêskanâs course.

[https://macewan.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/1819672688](https://macewan.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/ETS/pages/1819672688)