---
title: "Participation List Access"
canonical: "https://helpcentre.macewan.ca/space/ETS/1875248023/Participation%20List%20Access"
format: markdown
---
The** Participants **list is accessible to everyone in the course (both course **Instructor(s)** and **Students**). However, if, as the course **Instructor**, you want to prevent students from being able to view the **Participants **list, please follow the steps below:


1. The **Participants **list is located** **at the top of the page, allowing students to view the entire class list. 

![image](media://c4fcd2eb-e3c7-4ec8-ba46-027ad5ebb40e)


2. Select the drop-down menu for ***Enrolled users*** and click ***Permissions***.

![image](media://f92f54cc-4b09-47c4-9ed7-57840c1bac4d)

3. This will bring you to the **Permissions in Course** page. Select the drop-down menu next to ***Advanced role override*** and select the option of ***Student***.  

> ⚠️ Please wait a moment after switching to the Permissions window to let the full page load before you select 'Student' from the roles.

![image](media://9bcb167b-e20e-4d5c-b566-0d2b0a715bd2)


4. In the ***Filter ***search bar, begin by typing in** “view participants”** until you see the*** View Participants ***option.

![image](media://f15b0941-bd7a-40fd-8bf4-01cc24a3b6a0)


5. Change the selection from ***Inherit (Allow) ***to ***Prevent***. Then select ***Save Changes***. 

![image](media://440c0f47-7e92-4071-ab40-98b13f62c5d5)


6. Now, you can confirm this was successful by clicking on the dropdown menu in the top right corner of the screen and selecting*** Switch Role to…***.

![image](media://d4e3cc71-e658-4601-a46c-3607f5bd0921)


7. This will take you to a page where you can select the ***Student ***role and view the course from a student’s perspective.

![image](media://5dc3e971-b450-4003-859d-83df56d45cc2)


8. You will then be taken back to the course syllabus page. From the student role, the*** Participants ***list is now not visible in your top menu.

![image](media://8baf21b3-27b9-49ca-b9e4-5d6861fff637)


9. Switch back to the role of Teacher by simply selecting*** Return to my normal role***, located in the drop-down menu at the top right-hand corner of the screen.

![image](media://d1fcbc06-0c28-494a-95ab-5bbe411cdad1)


10. The ***Participants ***list will now be visible (only to you) as it is no longer visible to students.